Factory Reset Tool

Navigation:  Tools and Other Software >

Factory Reset Tool

prev main next

Navigation:  Tools and Other Software >

Factory Reset Tool

prev main next

Please wait. Due to its content this page might take a while to load...

The factory reset tool is especially useful for rental machines. On the one hand it allows you to create disk images i.e. a backup of the system including all files, programs, driver versions, computer names and all other structures and settings. On the other hand it allows you to restore the system by loading created images. At all times an image is provided, representing the system’s condition when it has been shipped out (with all recommended settings and drivers!)

factory-reset

The tool is available on V4Rev2 hardware which has been sold since the V5 release.

Please note: Until now, all images affect only the c-drive itself. The content partition is embedded into the c-partition, nevertheless it cannot be included when saving a backup, nor does a backup restore the content partition.
If you wish to delete certain content files from prior users, we advise to do this manually in the windows browser. Please be aware that the content partition has no bin, thus by deleting them and confirming the warning, you cannot restore them anymore

The user interface of the factory reset tool appears on each start up (booting process) after successfully booting the BIOS. If it is not entered actively within 5 seconds the system will continue booting and the Windows boot screen appears.

In order to halt the booting process and enter the active state of the tool, press one of the arrow keys on your keyboard. You will see this screen until the Exit button is pressed.
Navigate through the user interface by pressing the up and down keys. Press enter to confirm.

Factory Reset

Restores the c-drive to the factory setting. The factory reset image is a read-only file. It cannot be overwritten or deleted.
The content partition (c:/coolux/content) will remain as it is.

Factory Reset & Erase Content

Restores the c-drive to the factory setting and erases the files from the content partition (c:/coolux/content). All files will be deleted. There is no backup of the content partition stored separately!
As soon as a Pandoras Box application (Client or Master) will be loaded the first time the folder _Pandoras_Box_Data with its subfolders will be recreated.

Create Image

Draws an image from the current system. The image file will be saved on an additional rescue partition (60GB). Please be aware that the latest image will be overwritten by the recent image. There is a warning message you will have to confirm before saving a new image and possibly overwriting an older one. This does not affect the factory reset image which is stored separately!

The content partition (c:/coolux/content) will not be included in the image.

Restore Image

Restores the c-drive to the status when the latest image has been stored.
The content partition (c:/coolux/content) will remain as it is.

Restore Image & Erase Content

Restores the c-drive to the status when the latest image has been stored and erases the files from the content partition (c:/coolux/content). All files will be deleted. There is no backup of the content partition stored separately!
As soon as a Pandoras Box application (Client or Master) will be loaded the first time the folder _Pandoras_Box_Data with its subfolders will be recreated.

EXIT

Leaves the user interface from the factory reset tool. The booting process will continue and Windows will load.