Backup Menu

Navigation:  Pandoras Box > User Interface - Master > Menu Bar >

Backup Menu

prev main next

Navigation:  Pandoras Box > User Interface - Master > Menu Bar >

Backup Menu

prev main next

Please wait. Due to its content this page might take a while to load...

The backup menu is of interest if you run a second Master for backup reasons or if you are in a Multi-User environment with several Managers. In general, the command "Take Over All Sites In Domain" helps you (re-)connecting Clients in case of problems. It simply tells all available Clients to connect to this Master device.

menu-bar
menu-bar_backup

Backup

You can run a "Show" Master and a second "Backup" Master in the same domain without causing any conflict. As long as one device is in the Backup mode, it won’t give out any control data.

Per default, a Master is started as the Show Master and displays "Live" in its status bar, in the lower right corner of the user interface.

gui_backup_live

To change a Master into backup mode, go to the Backup menu and choose "Change Mode to Backup". The status line at the bottom of the user interface displays"Backup" highlighted in orange.

gui_backup_backup_cut

If it becomes necessary to toggle this device to Show Mode, choose "Change Mode to Live" or "Take Over All Sites In Domain". Both commands quit the Backup mode and tell the Clients to connect to this Master device.

Multi-User

As explained in the chapter Multi-User, there can only be one Main Manager but several Sub Managers. Per definition, the Main Manager hosts the session and the connection to the Client(s). If a Sub Manager calls the command "Take Over All Sites In Domain" he will become the new Main Manager and will be connected to the Clients directly. The previous Main , becomes a Sub Manager.

status-bar_main-mgr
Again, the "Main" or "Sub" status is displayed in the status bar, in the lower right corner of the user interface.